First leg of the 2014 Yokohama Philippine GT Championship kicks off


IMG_0486Heart-racing action ensued last June 1 at the Batangas Racing Circuit as drivers lined-up on the grid at the first leg of the 2014 Yokohama Philippine Grand Touring Car Championship. This year’s championship will be a six-round series featuring race cars competing in four classes based on horsepower with 2 cars racing in GT 300, 4 in GT 200, 9 in GT 150, and 2 in GT 100.

The morning’s 10-lap Sprint Race was action-packed from the word go. Emerging victorious in 1st place is Don don Portugal in class GT 300, Carlos Anton in GT 200, Richmon dela Rosa in GT 150, and Edwin Rodriguez in GT 100.

More than about outright speed, the afternoon’s 17-lap GT race was all about a test of the competitors endurance. Winning 1st overall and in GT 300 is Don Don Portugal followed by Paolo Mantolino in GT 200, Joel Portugal in GT 150, and Edwin Rodriguez in GT 100.

The second leg of the 2014 Philippine Grand Touring Car Championship will be held on July 26 to 27 at the Batangas Racing Circuit. The races are sanctioned by the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP), presented by Petronas Energy Philippines, Inc. and sponsored by Yokohama Tires Sales Philippines, Inc.

For more details and inquiries, please contact Batangas Racing Circuit, Inc. by calling (02) 729-5365, (02) 889-3389, or 0922-885-8410 and kindly look for Nelson Gayola or Rodini Rivera, or Racewell Marketing at 0917 856-8493. Get the latest updates by Liking us on Facebook at or log on to