Home Mobility Mobility News Toyota awards 2014 Vios Cup Winners

Toyota awards 2014 Vios Cup Winners

After three exciting legs of the inaugural season of the Toyota Vios Cup, the winners of the exciting series have finally been named. At ceremonies held in Makati City, the podium finishers were feted and awarded their respective prizes.


In his opening remarks, Toyota president Michinobu Sugata congratulated all the participants, sponsors, and winners of the successful season, and promised an even bigger and better 2015 Vios Cup season with rounds outside of Luzon. Sugata-san also hinted that he would be joining the racers, the following year.


Race leader until the qualifying race of the last leg, JASON CHOACHUY of Team Obengers / Toyota North EDSA was officially awarded third place and took home a trophy and a check worth Php 200,00.


Coming from behind and taking second place is PAULAND DUMLAO of Team Mekeni Racing / Toyota San Fernando . Dumlao went home with his Php 400,000 prize, as well as a trophy.


And the champion of the 2014 Toyota Vios Cup, taking home a brand new Vios 1.5G plus other prizes, is 15 year-old LUIS GONO from Team Toyota Balintawak. Not even street legal, the teenager bested racers who started driving way before he was born, and will go down in history as the first-ever winner of the prestigious competition.


The 2014 Toyota Vios Cup is sponsored by Bridgestone Tires, and supported by Rota, Motul, Brembo, TRD, Denso, OMP and AVT. The event was organized by the Tuason Racing School.