3rd leg of Hyundai Drift Championship in the books; next leg on September 20


    25 amateur and pro Filipino drifters slid and skidded at the historic Quirino Grandstand Parade Grounds last August 23, 2014. The venue where Filipino presidents are sworn in was transformed into a race track and was host to the third leg of the Hyundai Lateral Drift Championship.


    Established 2005, Lateral Drift Productions has been the forerunner of the local drifting scene, pushing drivers further and harder year after year to improve their craft in an increasingly competitive global sport.

    The popularity of drifting has drawn various car aficionados to the tournament, including the country’s Genesis Coupe Club who put their coupes on display as they watch the drifters burn rubber. They also rode shotgun in a 2014 Hyundai Genesis coupe captained by 6-time Lateral Drift Champion Alex Perez from Team Yellow Cab.


    For the Amateur group, Karr Montaner of Team Drive Hard Crew nabbed gold; 16-year old Peter Scroth got silver; and Adrian Jonsay from Team GMW took home bronze.


    In the Pro division, the 2011 Lateral Drift Champion from Team Autocraft, Audel Sison, regained his throne with a first place finish. Coming in second was last year’s champion, Gio Rodriguez, and in third was Alex Perez.

    The tourney still has 3 legs remaining to determine the overall champion. The fourth leg will be on September 20 at the newly built race track over at Tarlac Recreational Park, with the Hyundai Lateral Drift Championship Series being the first motoring event to grace the fresh course. For more information, you can go to the Hyundai Philippines Facebook page and follow Lateral Drift Productions.

    The Hyundai Lateral Drift Pro-Am Championship Series 2014 is powered by the Hyundai Genesis Coupe and is sponsored by Saffiro Tires, Dickies Clothing, Aguila Glass, and ConceptOne.


    Related Posts