Once upon a time, everyone had a Friendster account, Facebook was but a start-up, and we were still asking our friends, pa-testi naman jan o. But then Facebook happened, and the once proud king of the local social networking scene slowly began to lose relevance. Now, it’s about to lose users’ content too. Friendster has announced that it’s deleting all the photos, messages, comments, testimonials, shoutouts, blogs, forums and groups that users have, as the site is undergoing some major restructuring of the site. It’s included a handy little app, called the Friendster Exporter to allow you to lift all of the content that you have from the site. You’ll still retain your account however, as site says “Your Friendster account will not be deleted. You will still have the same email login and password in the new Friendster. Also, your list of friends will be preserved, along with your basic profile information.”
This leads us to believe that Friendster may be going the way of MySpace, as MOL Global (the company that owns Friendster) Ganesh Bangah explained that the new Friendster aims not to compete with, but will instead try to complement with Facebook.